She Wrote What?

She Wrote What?

She Wrote What?

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Lucky Girl

July 26, 2012 , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lucky Girl

By ALICIA MCLEOD

Ok calm down. It’s just a lottery ticket; a few numbers. A few numbers shouldn’t be scary, should they?

I look down in disbelief at the slightly crumpled ticket in my hand. It is just a lottery ticket, I tell myself again. There are just so many thoughts and fears racing through my head.

Could there be a mistake? Maybe, it’s a definite possibility. Yes, there has been a mistake. People like me just don’t win the lottery.

Who should I tell? Should I even tell anyone? What should I do next?

I close my eyes with a sigh and start to evaluate. The jackpot is 7.3 million  dollars. Did I win it all or just a portion? Perhaps there will be a huge party, sponsored by the lottery corporation; and I’ll get to meet loads of interesting people, and the others who will share the jackpot. Maybe one of them will be a handsome, single, young man; just as helpless as me, and the two of us can go on a mad spending spree.

I open my eyes and look down at the ticket one more time. As my eyes scan it, I realize that nobody in the world deserves this more than me. I have had such a run of bad luck lately, and come to think to think of it this has got to be fate.

I stand up and shove the ticket into my jeans pocket. Ruddy, ripped, old jeans — first purchase will be a new, very expensive, designer wardrobe. I can barely contain my excitement.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

